I Am A Camera

community

After a two month hiatus, I've finally resumed my study of American Sign Language, this time with the help of a new group of fellow students I started at Meetup.com

Read more...

On the cusp of “graduating” from my first semester of sign language, today I pause for some thoughts on teen girls, doddering grandpas, and the joy in being officially smarter than a dog

Read more...

Today, an extended look at the most crucial event to define the modern Deaf community, and the reasons it's considered so important

Read more...

I'm starting to meet a lot more people in the Deaf community, in a variety of different ways, but my experiences aren't quite matching up with my expectations

Read more...

A field report from my very first Chicago Deaf community social event, plus some sobering thoughts about my fellow late-deafened adults

Read more...

A field report from the annual Chicago conference on disabilities and the arts, plus a look at my first experience signing with strangers

Read more...

In which I hold my very first conversation in American Sign Language, and channel the spirit of Harry freaking Potter

Read more...

In which your humble narrator learns sign language for the first time, and accidentally discovers the smart, subversive pleasures of the Deaf-culture teen soap opera “Switched at Birth”

Read more...